Tattoo Balm

Trying something new this week.

Last Friday I got a new tattoo to honor my best friend who passed away from Colon cancer.  I wanted something totally special for her as she was my oldest and dearest friend.  I chose a trio of daffodils as her birthday was in March and she passed away in March and she has 3 beautiful children.

Daffodil tattoo

Of course I then needed something to protect my new ink!  The artist just recommended a “white lotion” which told me absolutely nothing!  I started researching and so many different things are used depending on your artists favorites.  Way confusing!  I wanted something healthy for my skin but also soothing and anti-inflammatory.  Some of the obvious choices were coconut oil, tea tree oil and aloe vera but I found those can actually “pull” the ink from your new tattoo!  ARGH!  I don’t want to ruin it before I actually heal it up!

Finally decided on a mixture of Sunflower and Apricot Kernel oils with Calendula and Chamomile steeped in.  I then added a touch of beeswax to thicken the mixture.  Sunflower oil is very light in texture and naturally emollient and also rich in vitamins A, C and D and healthy carotenoids and waxes which form a protective barrier on the skin. The nourishing properties of apricot kernel seed oil have an anti-inflammatory effect and may soothe minor skin conditions such as eczema as well as being rich in gamma linoleic acid which helps skin to maintain moisture balance.  I infused my oils for the salve with calendula, which is healing and anti-inflammatory; and chamomile, which is soothing and itch relieving.  As I said I added a touch of purified beeswax to thicken but you may not know that beeswax is anti-inflammatory too!

Tattoo Balm Prototype

I’m using the balm 3 times a day right now but I feel the area starting to feel tight I always add a little more often.  I like the portable container-much easier to cart to work and the bathroom without carrying much.  I just skip it in  my pocket and off I go!  I’m also excited as it is all natural.  Maybe I’m on to something?  I wonder if it would make a good cuticle balm?  Time to show those a little love too!

2 weeks post tattoo using my tattoo balm!

2 weeks post tattoo using my tattoo balm!

Really happy with how it’s healing!  Wish I had help taking the second pic but still happy with the healing!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in cancer, ingredients, skin care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tattoo Balm

  1. I love it 🙂 I treat all my tattoos with hand made lotions. Usually I just use whipped coconut oil, but I think I will try something like this with my next one I have planned 🙂 Your artist did a beautiful job and what a great way to commemorate a friend ^_^

Leave a Reply

