Happy 2015!

NEW YEARI was just filling out some cards for my “real” job and when I started writing the date I had to marvel at the fact that it really is 2015!  Seems like only yesterday we were all worried about the millennium!

I try to take stock and make strides toward a new a better me each year and this one is no different.  So many things to take stock of that it seems important that I make a list!  🙂

1.  Soaps:  It’s important to take stock of what has sold well and made folks happy.  I like being able to just pull it off my shelves when someone asks for it.  I already know I want more Dragon’s Blood, Geranium Rose and Cucumber green tea.  I also want to explore some spring time scents as waiting for them to cure will help me look forward to warmer days!  I also think the new larger bars are super nice and last better in the shower.

2.  Shave butter:  Suggested by a customer at a festival and it really has intrigued me.  I bought the supplies but my 2 surgeries and recovery got in the way!  I like the idea of a butter for shaving, especially this time of year.  (Have I mentioned how much I hate winter?)

3.  Lip balm:  Folks don’t seem to want it much so I think I will pair down my stock and concentrate on formulations I like.  I’m truly a lip balm addict so why not enjoy what I like?

4.  The business:  How to make it grow?  Or is it important to grow when you are doing what you love?  The mere art of creation is so fun to me but it’s important to sell what you can to finance your hobby.  The whole art of self promotion can be such a mystery to me.  I find it funny to talk with other soapers across the country who charge such high prices and folks don’t bat an eye.  My goal has always been a good quality product and a reasonable price will be worth it’s weight in gold!

2014 didn’t end on a personal high note for me.  Two surgeries in the last 2 months of the year combined with the flu at Christmas can wear a person down.  I’m ready to take stock and soap on!  What changes are you making personally or professionally this year?

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in business, crafts, health, skin care, Soap, soapmaking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 2015!

  1. I have a great recipe for lip balm! You can pretty much use my salve recipe 1:1 coconut oil to beeswax ratio and you get a pretty hard lip balm that can also be used as lotion, but if you increase the coconut (or other soild at room temp oil) by just a bit like if you were doing 1 ounce of each do .6-.7 ounce beeswax and 1.3-1.4 ounces of oil. You can easily pour it into the little roll up containers or put it in tins (i prefer the tins!)

Leave a Reply

