Shaving soap

Had a recent request for a shaving soap.  Apparently I am so far behind the times that I was not aware of the number of men (and women) who use shaving soap with a brush when shaving their faces or heads (or legs for you women out there).

A few decades ago almost every man who shaved used shaving soap and a brush. Once we became the modern society we are the shaving brush and soap almost became obsolete!  Suddenly men started to realize the importance of taking care of their skin and the art of shaving with a brush, soap and the proper blade takes on new importance.  According to web sites like www.badgeandblade.com once you use a shaving brush and shaving soap you will never go back.  Lurk on some of these web sites and you will be amazed how serious this movement is!  I could spend hours reading about the pros and cons of each soap, brush and blade!

Various Shaving Brushes

The classic way to create a rich lather is with shaving soap.  Shaving soaps were popular until World War I when shaving creams made their appearance, but for those who love the wet shaving experience traditional shaving soaps are still held in very high esteem!

A quality shaving soap has high levels of fat, either from a vegetable source or from tallow.  The fat is important because it provides the necessary lubrication in the shaving process so the blade glides easily and helps you to avoid nicks.  In my research tallow seems to be the most favorite fat used in shaving soaps as it also provides a creamy, stable lather that is very moisturizing.  Stable lather is important as you need for the lather to handle multiple passes with a blade before deflating.

I send my first test batch out this weekend to my volunteer.  If there are other wet shavers out there that want to give this small batch a try, let me know!  This is a whole new world for me-I want the best for my friends!

First batch of shave soap curing

First batch of shave soap curing

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in business, ingredients, skin care, Soap, soapmaking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shaving soap

  1. brazenrouge says:

    Hi, my leg hair grows through incredibly thick and anything to avoid the regrowth period required for waxing is okay by me.
    If possible I would be happy to test the product in exchange for an honest review.
    Email me at brazenrouge@yahoo.co.uk.

    TIA

    Brazenrouge

  2. brazenrouge says:

    Contact me at brazenrouge@yahoo.co.uk. I would be happy to try in exchange for an honest review.

    TIA
    Chloe

  3. My father uses the badger bristle brush and everything, he swears by it. I would love to send him a cake of soap to try 😀

  4. Pingback: soaps n stilettos

Leave a Reply

