Festival Season has arrived!

This weekend I attend my first fall festival of the year!  These things are such a PIA to get ready for but so much fun once you get there!  I’m in a reasonable panic for this one though.  All my helpers have abandoned me!  My DH is in class (why he wants to be an EMT at 58, idk) and my daughter has a UGA football game to attend (as a student you cannot miss a game!).  I’ve never really been alone at one of these events before so I have a bunch of nonsensical worries.

1.  Tent set up.  They call these things EZ Up.  That could be farther from the truth!  It usually takes my DH and I forever to maneuver that thing into position while lifting it up and high enough!  One time we did the whole festival with it  at the low height because we just gave up on ever getting it higher!  LOL  In addition to getting it set up, the sides will have to be put on because this is a 2 day festival and the sides are the only way you can effectively “close up the shop” at the end of day 1!  Luckily my daughter has agreed to go with me to set up the tent, then she is heading home for the game.

2.  Bathroom breaks.  I drink a lot!  And I don’t mean alcohol!  And when you talk to people you have to drink a lot more.  If you drink you have to go to the bathroom.  If you go to the bathroom you have to leave your booth.  WHO WATCHES YOUR BOOTH WHEN YOU ARE PEEING????  I never mind watching other people’s booths when they go to the bathroom or get lunch but I’ve never had to ask someone to watch mine!  Yes, I am that weird.

3.  Eating.  Yes I mentioned it in number 2 but I will mention it again.  I need to eat.  Eating is one of my favorite activities!  Intelligence says bring my lunch but will I think of that Saturday morning when we leave home?  No!  I won’t.  So then we go back to number 2…asking someone to watch my booth while I go get food.  Others ask me but I don’t ask others.  On second thought, BRING MY LUNCH!

4.  Weather.  Saturday the high will be 64.  That to me is a cold day!  If it rains I will be miserable.  Have you ever tried to sell soap on a cold rainy day?  Trust me, I have and it ain’t no fun!  There is something about wet, slimy soap in the rain that folks don’t want to buy!

So as I neurotically worry the rest of the week away, keep me in your thoughts this weekend and if you want to enjoy the fall season a little stop by Crooked Pines Farm for the Pumpkin Festival Saturday and Sunday from 10-4.

And could you bring me a Diet coke?  On second thought, skip the DC and watch my booth while I go pee!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in business, crafts, humor, Soap and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

