Give me a hand?

As you know I make handmade soap from the milk of my goat, Sophia.  It’s a passion of mine and I often reflect on how I got to this point.  I am definitely not a farm girl!  Well you know those goats don’t milk themselves so each night I go out place Sophia on the milking stand and squeeze away!  The only problem with the whole bonding with the goats scenario is that it’s killing my basal joint in my thumb!  

Basal joint, or thumb arthritis, is the most common form of osteoarthritis (wear-and-tear arthritis) of the hand.  Usually, the first sign of arthritis in the thumb is pain, tenderness, and stiffness. You’re most likely to feel it at the base of your thumb as you try to grip or clasp something between the thumb and index finger. You might also feel a pain when you try to apply mild force, such as when you twist a key in a lock, turn a door handle, or snap your fingers. You might also be left with a lingering ache.

Sadly I attribute this arthritis to my grandmother saying I shouldn’t pop my joints.  My thumb was the most popular joint to pop as I was growing up.  Geez, I hate to admit she was right!  

In addition to milking Sophia causing pain, the gym has been HELL on my thumbs!  Trainers are big on push ups, planks, and lifting heavy weights and all of those actions have caused horrible pain in that basal joint.  I’ve tried Turmeric Shots (that’s a drink-not an injection), natural pain meds like Traumeel, steroid injections in the joint and adjusting my movements but nothing has been 100%.  

Me being a Google junkie, I searched the web for any kind of help.  That’s when I found WAGS!

palm of glove WAGS gloves

http://www.wristassuredgloves.com/

Wrist Assured Gloves (WAGs) are unique therapeutic workout gloves specifically designed to prevent and relieve wrist pain.  The shape and functionality of the gel pad is innovative and unique – but that’s not all! The contoured gel pad is extremely durable, resilient and will retain its’ shape for the life of the glove. The firm gel gives slightly when pressure is applied so you’re comfortable, but it’s not squishy and wobbly. The pad rebounds to its’ shape once your hand is lifted and doesn’t compress over time. So it is both comfortable AND provides a stable base of support. How handy is that?  No I didn’t have wrist pain but I read a great deal about them on their web site and saw a lady’s testimonial that they helped with her thumb pain!  

I bit the bullet and bought a pair!  They arrived Tuesday and I tried them out last night at the gym.  Last night was core night so the hour was spent in multiple variations of planking!  How many ways can you plank?  Don’t ask.  Seriously, don’t ask.  I’m very happy to say I didn’t suffer a bit while wearing the gloves!  That meant I could do all the planks the other “kids” are doing and not whine and complain about my hands!  Don’t get me wrong, I still whined and complained but at least it wasn’t about my hands!  🙂  Now If they just would invent a way to exercise without having to move off the couch?   

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in exercise, health, pain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Give me a hand?

  1. Luckily your joint popping isn’t why you got the joint pain (http://www.webmd.com/osteoarthritis/guide/joint-cracking-osteoarthritis), but it is the old wear and tear on the joints that might have caused it. I am glad you are taking your turmeric shots! That should help a lot too 🙂 these gloves look fantastic! I am sending this post to my mom!

Leave a Reply

