Weekends are made for…

Soap it seems!  I recently made a commitment to a little boy.  He’s a special little boy, as I’m sure they all are.  This little man is 5 years old and wise beyond his years and sadly is having to grow up way too soon.  For some reason this special little man has a brain tumor and although I have not met him as a nurse I know how this can and will affect his life.  He and his parents now a have a new set of worries.  Gone are the usual worries of having a child, skinned knees and such.  Those seem so minor compared to what may or may not happen in his future.  

I whine about my thumbs hurting from milking the goat or my hamstring not healing as fast as I want it to but those complaints have nothing to do with my daughter.  She’s 20 now but I remember all the struggles with her health when she was little: monthly IVIg infusions, high fevers, broken bones, oral surgeries, and various snotty noses.  Always I knew in the end she would be OK.  And she is!  But would I be able to handle something as serious as a brain tumor?  I’m glad I never had to find out.  

So how does this all factor into a weekend and soap?   Well numerous friends of this family are doing fundraisers to help with the mounting medical bills and I sat there feeling helpless.  What could I do to help raise money?  And then it hit me!  What do I do well?  I make soap!  So we asked this adorable little man his favorite “flavor” and he said peppermint patty!  The symbol for the pediatric brain tumor foundation is a star and he obviously is a star!  So I am spending each weekend making star shaped peppermint patty soaps to sell to raise money for them!  It’s a labor of love.  It makes me feel like I am doing something good for someone who needs something good.  Maybe the best way to feel good about yourself is to make someone else feel good?  I like knowing however small this gift/donation may be it will be welcomed and appreciated.  Maybe more often than not we should all spend some time helping others?  I can’t wait until Holmes gets his own bar of soap.  I hope he thinks its a cool as I think he is!  

Here is the first batch curing.  They will be ready in 3 more weeks!

Here is the first batch curing. They will be ready in 3 more weeks!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in crafts, goats, Soap, soapmaking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekends are made for…

  1. Pingback: soaps n stilettos

Leave a Reply

