Beldi Black Soap

Several days ago I ran across a new soap that really peeked my interest!  Of course that meant I had to try it!

Beldi black soap is a typical Moroccan soap used in baths (hammam) in the east, the Turkish bath or steam bath, especially in the beach town of Essaouria in the Atlantic coast of Morocco, where this soap was created.

The Beldi soap is a soap in paste form that is low in lather, dark brown, and rich in vitamin E, which has many beneficial properties for the skin.  Its exfoliating action plus moisturizing properties soften the skin. It is used to prepare the skin for manual exfoliation, purifying the skin to thicken dead cells for subsequent removal.

With the skin being in a hot and humid environment in the sauna, steam is passed over the entire body and Beldi black soap is left to act for 10 minutes as a mask treatment. After 10 mins the soap is completely removed and then with a luffa sponge, in Morocco Kassa is suitable for Hamman, they proceed to hard exfoliation where dead skin cells are easily removed. You can replicate this environment by  leaving the shower running in the bathroom stall.

There are several types of Beldi soap with the traditional dark color and fragrance of eucalyptus. The soap is made from olive oil and black olive paste saponificated with potassium hydroxide (KOH).

The process starts with olives ground into paste and mixed with extra virgin olive oil.

Image

In this picture you can see the flecks of olive in the mixture of olive oil, ground olives, and since I didn’t have any olive pits to grind for exfoliation I added ground walnut hull.

Image

Now the fun begins!  I am stick blending the olive oil mixture with the mixture of goats milk and KOH.  I want to blend the whole mixture until it reaches trace.  Trace is a lot like pudding consistency.

2014-02-08 16.12.58

Finally reached trace in the picture below.  Olive oil soaps typically take much longer to trace than soaps with multiple oils in them.

2014-02-08 16.14.32

Now the soap begins the cooking process.  The soap will progressively darken and thicken as it cooks.

2014-02-08 16.45.58

After 30 mins of cooking you see how dark it has become.  Every 30mins we will stir and continue to cook.

2014-02-08 20.11.27

See how much darker it became after just 2 hours?

2014-02-09 09.24.27

Notice after 4 hours of cooking how gorgeously dark it is.  At this point I added eucalyptus essential oil, vit e, and rosemary.

2014-02-12 11.25.14

The final product ready for use!  Smooth on your skin and buff away the dead skin cells leaving you smooth and soft!

www.soapsnstilettos.com

 

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in business, ingredients, skin care, Soap, soapmaking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beldi Black Soap

  1. Pingback: Festival time! | soaps n stilettos

  2. Pingback: soaps n stilettos

Leave a Reply

