When life gives you “lemons”, make soap?

I have been on a soap making binge!  I had a craft show on Dec 14 & 15 and totally wiped out a lot of my standards so every day last week I made soap to get back up to speed!  Only problem with that is when you get in the groove you get too confident and then you make mistakes!  For the last batch of the week I made a tried and true favorite, Honey Oat!  I doubled the batch so as to have plenty for the samples as well as full bars.  Three days later I want to unmold and here is what I found

20140103-192439.jpg

Totally yuck!  When this kind of lemon happens you immediately start wondering what went wrong.  After racking my brain for 3 more days I suddenly checked my recipe and realized I had superfatted my soap at 22%!  Holy Goat!  My regular bars are only superfatted at 8%, my winter bars are superfatted at 10%!  Superfatting is what you do to make the bars more creamy and conditioning.

Ok, so how do I fix it?  The typical thing to do is something called a rebatch.  Rebatching involves chopping the soap up and adding the missing ingredients and cooking the soap in a crock pot or double boiler until it liquefies and can be remolded.  I absolutely HATE rebatching!  It encourages more caramelizing of the sugars in the goats milk and you end up with a caramel colored soap no matter what color I want it to be.  But what choice do I have?  Throw all that soap away?  Heck NO!

20140103-193658.jpg

Here you see the soap chunked into the crock pot.  I carefully calculated the amount of lye needed to bring the soap to a superfat of 8% and mixed with a small amount of goats milk to dissolve the lye and added to the crock pot of soap.

20140103-194256.jpg

Give it a quick mix and put the lid on to cook on low.  Every hour or so I would diligently mix as the soap got more and more caramelized and liquefied.  When it finally became a consistency I liked I ladled it back into the molds.

20140103-194841.jpg

You can see how much darker it has gotten!  I then leave it in the mold for 24 hours to cool and solidify.  Today when I arrived home I unmolded…

20140103-195150.jpg

Beautiful!  The picture really doesn’t do it justice as it really is more of a dark honey color than brown but I am quite proud!!!  I saved a batch!  And it looks great!  Maybe this rebatching thing isn’t so bad after all?  This batch of Honey oat will be ready for sale on January 25th!  And maybe in my tub before that!!!!

http://www.soapsnstilettos.com

 

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in business, ingredients, Soap, soapmaking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

