Soap on a Saturday

The holidays are fast approaching so I am finding myself in my kitchen more and more each Saturday…so much so I never got around to publishing this!

In addition to making Soap, this time of year I like to add products to my line that add another layer of luxury, protection, and comfort to your skin! One of my favorites is my whipped shea butter! I made 3 batches Saturday!

Melting unrefined shea butter

Melting unrefined shea butter

I start each batch with unrefined shea butter.  I just got a shipment of 40lbs!  I call it 40lbs of love!  I use unrefined because I like the idea that it’s more natural, plus it maintains all its natural healing properties.  None of the goodness of the natural shea has been taken away.  You will find it rather grainy in texture but that disappears when it is melted.  The picture above shows how I melt it in a double boiler over slow low heat.  Once melted I add avocado oil to bring the temperature down and to encourage the shea to not get hard again once it is whipped.  Avocado oil has the highest amount of Vitamin E, which is a powerful antioxidant.  It’s also naturally hydrating as it is deeply absorbed by the squamous layer of the skin.

beginning the whipping process

beginning the whipping process

Once the shea butter/avocado oil mixture has cooled I begin the whipping process!  Yup, that’s my Kitchenaid!  If it’s cooled sufficiently it whips beautifully!

whipping in progress

whipping in progress

You see how quickly the color starts to change as the mixer hits it’s speed on high!

beginning to take shape

beginning to take shape

Once again a color change as the mixture becomes more and more whipped.  Amazing how you can go from such a beautiful yellow to a stark white by turning a mixer on!  I stop periodically to scrape down the sides and bottom of the mixing bowl so the thicker pieces of shea whip and become creamy in texture.

even fluffier

even fluffier

Isn’t that amazing?  What a transformation it undergoes!  At this point I add a small amount of arrowroot powder to give the whipped butter a little glide and keep the mixture from just feeling greasy.  This is also when I add scent if I am going to scent it.  Currently I make Lavender, Rosemary Citrus, Peppermint bark, and Unscented.  But I always offer to make a custom order to match any of our soaps!

Looks like royal icing

Looks like royal icing

One thing I make sure of when making this is to not leave it alone.  It’s not that delicate but I don’t want my family to eat it!  You have to admit it looks like Royal icing!  I have a friend who’s husband actually stuck a big wad in his mouth!  I guarantee he won’t do that again!  hahahahaha

Whipped goodness from that tub!

Whipped goodness from that tub!

Don’t you want to rub that in?  It’s light, fluffy and so good for your skin!  And to think it all started with the 40lbs of love tub!

Be Udderly Beautiful!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in ingredients, skin care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soap on a Saturday

  1. It does look like icing. I’d have probably taken a finger full, too.

  2. Pingback: Homemade Whipped Body Butter | My Frugal Life

Leave a Reply

