Soaping on a Saturday!

Just got a big order for multiple products and soaps so I took inventory and HOLY GOAT! I GOTTA MAKE SOAP!
Goats milk is a little peculiar when it comes to soap. You’re probably aware that milk contains natural sugars called lactose. Lactose is one of the many reasons that milk tastes so good when you drink it! But lactose is also the reason that working with milk in soaps makes it a little more peculiar!  Sugar is sugar, whether it is in the form you mix in your coffee or in milk as lactose.  When sugar is heated it caramelizes and we all know what caramel looks like.  And brown soap is not always appealing!

To combat the caramelization of the lactose in goats milk you have 2 choices, you can freeze the milk into ice cubes or place the milk in a bowl over an ice bath.

Goats milk ice cubes

Goats milk ice cubes

The addition of the lye is what causes the milk ice cubes to melt.  In the above picture you see even a small amount of lye can cause the milk to start melting.  I like to add the lye in small amounts to the milk cubes to that it dissolves completely before the next addition.  If you add the lye in too large a quantity it can clump and you will have orange caramelized spots in your mixture.  Once the lye is added, you will have a creamy thick mixture or milk and lye that is still relatively cool to touch in the pan.

milk and lye mixture

milk and lye mixture

Before I ever started the mixing of the milk and lye I had melted the butters and then added the cool oils to bring the temperature of the hot butters down.  I then set them aside to allow the entire mixture to cool to a temperature more conducive to soaping.

Melted oils and butters

Melted oils and butters

You’ll notice the mixture looks a little cloudy right now.  That’s because I was working with a floral scent and florals tend to accelerate trace in soap mixtures so I added the scent to the oil mixture.  Once the milk and the oils are close in temperature they are mixed together.  That is when the magic happens!

Mixing of oils and milk

Mixing of oils and milk

When I’m mixing I like to use a stick blender.  It makes for easier work and it keeps me from having a bicep the size of Bluto!  I didn’t have to blend long as when you are doing a swirl you only want it to be emulsified not completely traced.  Once it’s mixed then I can color and do the design.  Since this was a floral scent it did accelerate on me so I didn’t have time to take more pictures of the process, lol.  After everything is in the mold

Ready for the Fridge!

Ready for the Fridge!

 

Here we are, Hawaiian White Ginger goats milk soap!  Sunday I will take it out of the fridge and then cut.  In 4-6 weeks it will be ready for your shower!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in goats, ingredients, Soap, soapmaking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Soaping on a Saturday!

  1. Wow, I really need to start making my own bar soaps! How long do you leave it in the fridge? Do you cure your soaps for a certain amount of time before use?

  2. Pingback: Watch: Young Lye- Don’t Give Up The Struggle @YoungLye @Stack_Large @atlgravity | TheATLJukebox

  3. Pingback: Soap on a Saturday! | soaps n stilettos

Leave a Reply

