Ingredient Spotlight…Anise

aniseOne of this month’s “creepy” selections in soap on www.soapsnstilettos.com is Halloween candy!  It’s a lovely soap featuring a creepy skull coming out of the top!  I wanted something totally unique in scent and something candyish but I also wanted it to have aromatherapy benefits as well!  I finally decided on anise!  What is anise you say?

Anise is one of the strongest essential oils but when used correctly the results can be incredible!

Anise is a flowering plant native to eastern Mediterranean region and Southwest Asia which has a licorice like flavor and smell.  (What’s more creepy than the fragrance of black jelly beans?)  Many cuisines use anise to flavor dishes, drinks and candies like black jelly beans, Jagermeister, Virgil’s root beer, and Italian pizzelle.

Anise contains phytoestrogen and is commonly used for medicinal purposes even as far back at Civil war times where American Civil War nurse Maureen Hellstrom used anise seeds as an early form of antiseptic.  Of course they later discovered it caused high levels of toxicity in the blood and had to be discontinued.  Of course I think a lot of men died back then so you can’t blame a girl for trying, can you?

Many use anise to invigorate the mind and stimulate circulation.  It’s powerful on the digestive system and is known to ease nausea and vomiting, indigestion and flatulence.  Probably why anise liquors are used as digestive in many countries after a big meal.  Anise also has expectorant properties so it can be useful in treating respiratory infections.  You will find many natural cough drops contain anise for that very reason!  You can make a vaporizer blend to ease tension headaches or respiratory problems by mixing 5-10 drops from a combination of the following oils:

  • Anise
  • Lavender
  • Niaouli
  • Peppermint

But the one thing I think will make men take a second look at anise is that it can be used for drag hunting and fishing.  It can be put on fishing lures to attract fish.  Anise oil is used by deer hunters to attract deer; it also doubles as a scent cover.  After you catch the fish with anise scented lures you can get rid of the fishy scent on your hands by washing with anise scented soap!

Seriously, with uses like these, why wouldn’t you want to incorporate anise into your daily life?

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in fishing, Hunting, ingredients, Soap and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ingredient Spotlight…Anise

  1. Wow I did not know anise was used as an antiseptic in the civil war! ^_^ this is a great and informative post thanks!

  2. Pingback: Cooking With Italian Spices – Anise | jovinacooksitalian

  3. Pingback: Anise Hyssop | Find Me A Cure

Leave a Reply

