Ingredient Spotlight…Lavender

lavender

Lavender is one of the most highly requested soaps I make!  Why is it so popular?  It seems lavender is highly regarded for a number of reasons, so lets take a look!

Lavender is native to North Africa and the Mediterranean where it is commonly used to help wash and purify the skin.  As a matter of fact the word Lavender originates from the Latin word lavare which means “to wash”! 

Not only is lavender great for washing the skin but it also has many medicinal uses as well!  Lavender oil is believed to have antiseptic and anti-inflammatory properties which can be used to help heal minor burns and bug bites. 

Quite a few people I know love it for the fact that is reduces anxiety, insomnia and depression!  No wonder you find it in so many preparations for relaxation! 

Some studies even suggest that lavender can help digestive issues such as vomiting, nausea, intestinal gas and abdominal swelling. 

In addition to helping with digestive issues, lavender is used to help relieve pain from headaches, sprains, toothaches, and sores. It is also used to prevent hair loss and repel insects.

A study in 2008 reported that Lavender may help reduce anxiety in dental patients, while another study reported aromatherapy of lavender helps reduce the number of pain meds needed in post-tonsillectomy patients.  Makes you wonder why more doctors/dentists offices and recovery rooms don’t instill lavender in the air vents! 

The National Institute of Health does warn that you should be careful when combining Lavender with Barbiturates, benzodiazepines, or Chloral Hydrate as the combination can lead to increased sedation. 

gentle dandruff remedy: Wet hair with warm water and towel dry. Next, grab a mug and mix 15 drops of lavender essential oil in 2 tablespoons olive or almond oil. Microwave for about 10 seconds or until it feels warm. Massage the oil into your scalp, pop on a shower cap, let set for an hour, then shampoo out. It may take several treatments to see results but it’s much more gentle and holistic than buying harsh dandruff shampoos!

 

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in ingredients, Soap and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ingredient Spotlight…Lavender

  1. Pingback: Do We Have The Healthcare We Deserve? The Dandruff Model. | Alternative Holistic Health Answers

Leave a Reply

