Ingredient Spotlight… Neem oil

I did a small craft festival of sorts today.  I call it a craft festival of sorts because the main focus was on animals, not pillow case dresses and bird feeders.  The festival was entitled “Celebration of World Rabies, Vaccination Day”.  It featured rabies vaccinations, adorable adoptables, microchipping and crafts.  For the festival I made an additional batch of my doggie shampoo bars.  My doggie shampoo bars feature Neem oil.  So why vary my tried and true soap recipe for the dogs to include Neem?  Well I’m so glad you asked!

Neem oil is actually thought of as the cocoa butter or shea butter of the East!  Neem is an excellent moisturizer, high in vitamin E, rich in emollients and fatty acids which soothe dry, cracked or stressed skin.  A lady stopping by my table thought neem came from sheep, so what is neem?

Neem actually comes from a tree, not an animal!  The neem tree is native to tropical Southeast Asia.  Over 140 compounds isolated in the neem, exhibit several healing properties including immunomodulatory, anti-inflammatory, antifungal, antibacterial, antiviral and anticarcinogenic. Neem has a favorable influence on our skin and is used to treat myriad skin infections. All parts of the neem tree, including the leaves, bark, twigs and oil from the seeds are used in preparations for skincare, psoriasis and fungal infections.  Neem also is special because is can be used to the preparation of insecticides.  It doesn’t kill bugs like chemical insecticides but it repels them away!  That makes it a great way to prevent fleas and ticks from making your dog their home!

One word of caution, neem doesn’t smell very pleasant.  I don’t find it that offensive but friends of mine find it truly obnoxious!  That’s why the essential oils I use in my dog shampoo bar were chosen.  They not only partially disguise the scent of the neem, they aid in repelling bugs!   Read up on neem and its benefits and make a choice to go natural!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in ingredients, Soap, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ingredient Spotlight… Neem oil

  1. Pingback: What is Neem and How It helps in the Care of Your Skin and Hair? | Passion Awakening

Leave a Reply

