Special ingredients…Pine Tar

When I started producing sImageoap from my goat’s milk I made the decision to make sure it was all natural, and I mean ALL natural.  Colors and ingredients come from natural sources like herbs and botanicals.  I use unrefined shea butter and cocoa butter so that only the best properties are given to my soaps.  So today I’d like to focus so some of those special ingredients.

Pine tar has long been used for skin issues but how much do you know about it?  Pine tar is the sticky material produced by the high temperature carbonization of pine wood.  Pine tar has been used since ancient times, known for its gentle antiseptic properties and healing effect.  It has always been a traditional solution for treating animal wounds and infections and you will find it on the shelves of farm stores every where.  For years doctors have prescribed the use of pine tar soap as topical medicine for some skin diseases.  It is being widely used against skin psoriasis.  People who have dry skin can also benefit from pine tar soap.  The natural oil of pine wood is retained during carbonization.  So, it could help your skin by adding moisture to it during application.  Also found in the tar used in pine tar soap are traces of iodine and sulfur, both very good for treating itches, infections and rashes, which is why the use of pine tar in old fashioned soaps are still considered very useful these days.

Of course if I make medicinal claims about my soap I can get in trouble with the FDA.  Crazy when folks as far back as my grandparents have used pine tar for their skin aliments!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in ingredients, Soap and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Special ingredients…Pine Tar

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    This soap looks amazing!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

