Kids are Kids

IMG_3161Two and a half weeks ago I passed a major milestone. My only child graduated from high school and promptly moved off to another town approximately an hour away. Still makes me teary to this day. 

I worked so hard to be the best mom on the planet. Sure my mom was great in her way but she spent the teenaged years and beyond with me differently than she did the early years. As I grew up I was always reminded of how my birth changed everything in their life. As my mom said on numerous times “We had fun till you came along. We had to quit having friends, going out and having fun.” She sorta went nuts around the time I was 18, calling me names and treating me like crap. So when I was blessed with my daughter I wanted to make her feel as wanted and as loved as possible. I hosted elaborate parties and sleepovers. I volunteered at school. I taught her to love going to the movies and the wonderfulness of an icee! I’ve always come to her rescue and defended her to the end, even when sometimes I had a sneaking suspicion she might be at fault, because I believed in her! So on May 26th, when she rode off into the sunset (so to speak), I realized that things will never be the same for her and me. They won’t be better but they won’t be worse, they will just be different. And different isn’t always so bad!

So why do I focus on all of this right now? Well the goats were and are a part of her. So when I go down to that swamp filled pasture tonight (and possibly consider building an ark, lol) and bottle feed Wiggles, let Waggles climb up my back and sit on my shoulder, let Brownie cuddle with me, chase Guy down and try to make him like me, I am in effect channeling Savannah. I’m reliving the cuddling, the games we played, and the adventures we had. So what if my new kids have 4 legs? (There were days that I swore Savannah smelled like a goat! OMG she will kill me for that one!) Kids are kids, they all need love!

Be udderly beautiful!

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

