Rainy days and Mondays

IMG_3290

I didn’t have to be at work today until noon so I took the opportunity to use up some of Sophia’s milk and make some soap.  Goat’s milk is well known for its skin nourishing properties so why not make a specialty soap for those with special needs?

Over and over again I have folks ask me about soap for their eczema or their psoriasis.  Goat’s milk has many vitamins and other essential elements to help nourish skin.  These include vitamins A, E, C, some of the B vitamins, amino and citric acids, unsaturated fatty acids and zinc.  Goat milk conditions the skin and is highly nourishing.  It serves as a great beauty treatment in the bath.  Goat milk contains alpha-hydroxyl acids such as lactic acid which help remove dead skin cells from your skin’s surface.  This leaves new cells on the surface of your skin that is smoother and younger looking.  The alpha-hydroxyl acids are so effective because they break down the bonds that hold the dead skin cells together.  Removing dead skin cells will help many skin conditions by removing irritation.

I’ve read over and over again about the benefits of pine tar for just such conditions so why not combine the benefits of both ingredients in one soap?  I thought I would give it a go!  It supposedly can help with the dryness associated with eczema and psoriasis, preventing the progression of scaling.  Its soothing and anti-inflammatory properties make it useful for the problem of dandruff, insect bites, acne, hives, eczema, seborrhea, and contact dermatitis.  Hey if this is correct what have I got to lose?

I set my creative juices flowing this morning and formulated a blend of oils that would be creamy and nourishing like sunflower and olive oil.  Added in some essential oils to make the soap, hopefully, smell good, like lavender, tea tree, eucalyptus and fir and then let the magic begin!

As you can see in the picture, the soap looks a lot like chocolate frosting!  I like the look but I’m sure not tasting it!  🙂  I can’t wait till tomorrow when I unmold.  Of course the real wait begins as I wait 4 weeks for it to cure, but patience is a virtue, right?

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy days and Mondays

  1. That looks DELICIOUS. In a pinetar sort of way!

Leave a Reply

