Ebru weekend

I’ve been lusting after all the pictures of ebru painted soap lately and after seeing it on a fellow soaper’s blog I knew I had to try it!  With the long weekend and the torrential rains we had soap experimentation was definitely in the plans!

Pretty but not what I was going for :-)

Pretty but not what I was going for 🙂

The first batch I did on Friday and I chose very vivid colors.  Loved the design until I looked in my cups of colored soap and realized I had a ton of left overs!  I immediately thought “I can make this work” and started adding to the mold.  Next thing I knew I had covered my entire design with blobs of colored soap!  I took my handy dandy chop stick and started swirling so I wouldn’t be totally outdone!

ebru 2

Batch 2 I scented with Sage & Citrus so I chose my colors to reflect such.  Not as ebru as batch 1, before I covered with blobs of soap, but I kind of like the delicate lines.  If I had to do over I would have colored the back ground soap to make the designs stand out better.

Sunday I unmolded both and I have to say I like both!  Are there changes I would have made if I had to do over?  Probably, but I call it a very successful experimentation for a rainy 4th of July weekend!

ebru 3

What fun things did you do over the weekend?

About soapsnstilettos

I started on this adventure in soap making as a way to become involved in my daughter's life. She had started her little goat farm and I had found goats milk soap on a trip I went on with my best friend Michele. I thought, "Hey! I've got goats, they've got milk, I could do this!" Well it wasn't exactly that easy but now I'm addicted! I formulate all of my soaps with my friends and family in mind and once you get a bar of my soap you are instantly my friend! Come follow all the craziness in my life and learn about my soaps too!
This entry was posted in soapmaking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment